

Global Environment Facility

GEF/C.22/15 October 17, 2003

GEF Council November 19-21, 2003

Agenda Item 17

CONFIRMATION OF PARTICIPANTS
JOINING CONSTITUENCY GROUPINGS

Recommended Council Decision

The Council confirms the following constituency groupings:

- (i) Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan;
- (ii) Afghanistan, Jordan, Lebanon, Pakistan, Syria and Yemen;
- (iii) Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe;
- (iv) Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.

- 1. Pursuant to Annex E, paragraph 8, of the *Instrument for the Establishment of the Restructured GEF*, the Council is invited to confirm the constituency groupings described below. The inclusion of the additional country Participants in the constituencies has been agreed to by the Participants in each of the respective constituency groupings.
 - (i) Kazakhstan is to be included in the constituency currently comprising Azerbaijan, Kyrgyz Republic, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.
 - (ii) Syria is to be included in the constituency currently comprising Afghanistan, Jordan, Lebanon, Pakistan and Yemen.
 - (iii) *Namibia* is to be included in the constituency currently comprising Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
 - (iv) Rwanda and Seychelles are to be included in the constituency currently comprising Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Sudan, Tanzania, and Uganda.